Media One's Chautauqua Preview

Media One's Chautauqua Preview | A Look At The Week At Chautauqua

By Lee John

Vanessa Weinert, Director of Marketing and Analytics, of Chautauqua Institution gets on the line with Lee John each week to preview some of the biggest programming events of the week for our audience to attend.

Chautauqua Preview - Week 2 2018

Who are we as Americans? Everyone has their own definition of the American identity, and most agree it’s being lost. A recent poll from The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research found that 71 percent of Americans feel the United States is losing its national identity — that is, the beliefs and values the country represents. During this week, we reach across the aisles of both politics and faith. We examine how we’ve defined American identity throughout our history and the stories we’ve told to shape that identity; the political, economic and social factors that shape our contemporary definitions; and what these different national identities — at times in conflict with one another — mean for our democracy and the prosperity of all Americans. We’ll consider whether a new foundation of American identity is necessary — or even possible.

Click Episode to Listen. Right-click here and 'Save Link As' to Download

Chautauqua Preview - Week 4 2018

Russia and the West

July 13th, 2018 09:05am | Duration: 10

A quarter-century has passed since the collapse of the Soviet Union — and the promise of new relationship with the West — yet we find ourselves at what some consider the brink of a new Cold War. What has happened to damage relations between Russia and the West over 25 years, how have power dynamics changed in the age of digital and information warfare, and what must we understand about the recent history of Vladimir Putin’s Russia and its relationship with the West and the world? Building upon the work of the Chautauqua Conferences on U.S.-Soviet Relations of the 1980s and 1990s, we reaffirm our need for a deeper cultural understanding of Russia, its history and its people

Listen   |   Download

Chautauqua Preview - Week 2 2018

American Identity

June 29th, 2018 02:02pm | Duration: 5:00

Who are we as Americans? Everyone has their own definition of the American identity, and most agree it’s being lost. A recent poll from The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research found that 71 percent of Americans feel the United States is losing its national identity — that is, the beliefs and values the country represents. During this week, we reach across the aisles of both politics and faith. We examine how we’ve defined American identity throughout our history and the stories we’ve told to shape that identity; the political, economic and social factors that shape our contemporary definitions; and what these different national identities — at times in conflict with one another — mean for our democracy and the prosperity of all Americans. We’ll consider whether a new foundation of American identity is necessary — or even possible.

Listen   |   Download

Chautauqua Preview - Week 1 2018

The Life of the Written Word

June 22nd, 2018 10:52am | Duration: 10

Language is a living and dynamic thing, passed along through writing. Words and the act of writing can erase or reclaim history, identity. We write to communicate our truths, and we read to understand, to gain new perspectives, new knowledge and new empathy. For these reasons, the literary arts find themselves at the forefront of cultural, political, and artistic conversations in the U.S. and around the world. As the line between writer and reader is blurred, we recognize that human beings are storytellers as well as story readers. In this weeklong festival, Chautauqua builds upon its traditions as a literary community, and we hold up the power of language and pledge to be responsible stewards of that power.

Listen   |   Download



WJTN News Headlines for July 19, 2018

State Police in Pennsylvania are asking for the public's help in safely returning a runaway teen to her Wayne Township Home....    Troopers say 17 year-old Jessica Lynn Rick l...

Read More