Local News Headlines

In contested town races Tuesday, here are some of the results:


In the Busti Town Council race, Republicans Kenneth Lawton and Todd Hanson were elected with 1215 votes and 1187 votes respectively.  Democrat Cara Birrittieri was out of the running with 602 votes.


In Ellicott's Ward 1 Republican Pat Mc Laughlin defeated Democrat Vicki Bardo, 254 to 152 votes.


The Town of Harmony saw two Republicans elected to the Town Council.  Peter Radka got 299 votes, and David Hinderer had 289.  Democrat Irene Anderson received 154 votes.


In Clymer Republicans Russell Hunink and John Holthouse were elected to the Town Council with 236 and 156 votes respectively.  Democrat Howard Holthouse came in third with 113 votes.


The Kiantone Highway Superintendent's race was won by Democrat Robert Carlson.  He had 260 votes.  Republican Mark Johnson had 124.


In the Town of Poland clerk's contest, Republican Bonnita Wallace was elected with 375 votes.  Democrat Darla Rissel had 141.


The Town of Sherman Town Council race was won by Republicans Gerald Russell and Howard Crump with 233 and 207 votes respectively.  Independence candidate James Irwin did not win.  He had 105 votes.


The Stockton Town Justice contest was won by Republican Mark Cunningham.  He had 358 votes.  Democrat Jeffrey Shevlin, Jr. received 193 votes.  

Local News

WJTN Headlines for Wed., Feb. 24, 2021

Ground to be broken in April for new Love's Travel Center in Ripley... Ground is expected to be broken in April for a new, $12-million travel center project on Shortman Road in the town of Ripley...

Read More